Events

Lectures

Scholar Lectures

5:30 pm in the Stone Hill Hunter Studio

  • Judith Rodenbeck: “Feedback: Notes on the Behavioral Turn”
    Tuesday Sept. 24
  • Romy Golan: “Campo Urbano, September 21, 1969”
    Tuesday Oct. 1
  • Ian Balfour: “Over the Top: On Some Dynamics of the Visual and Verbal Sublime (and Writing about It)”
    Tuesday Oct. 22
  • Francesca Dal Lago: “Were There Women Artists in Modern China?”
    Tuesday Nov. 5
  • Suzanne Preston Blier: “Imaging Amazons: In and Out of Africa”
    Tuesday Nov. 19
  • Roberto Tejada: “Everything I See Needs Rearranging”
    Tuesday Dec. 3
  • Ruth Phillips: “Seeing through Translation: Wampums, Monstrances and Conversions in Seventeenth-Century New York”
    Tuesday Feb. 18
  • Terry Smith: “Worlds Pictured by Contemporary Artists”
    Tuesday March 4, 2014
  • Eric Michaud: “Art as a Preparation for Danger”
    Tuesday March 18, 2014
  • Juliane Rebentisch: “The Contemporaneity of Contemporary Art”
    Wednesday, March 19, 2014
  • Mark Phillips: “What is the ‘History’ in History Painting?”
    Tuesday, April 8, 2014
  • Maria Stavrinaki: “Prehistorical Modernity: The Interwar Paradigms”
    Tuesday, April 22, 2014
  • Michael Ann Holly: “Painted Presence, Painted Silence” 
    Tuesday, April 29, 2014
  • Simon Leung: “Breezy Jack: Rumination on a Connecticut Yankee from the Qing Dynasty Court”
    Tuesday, May 6, 2014

Public Lectures

  • Meeting with Anselm Kiefer
    Thursday Sept. 26, 2:45-4:00 pm, Faison and Bloedel Galleries, WCMA
  • Robert Sterling Clark Professor Lecture
    Rebecca Zorach: Nature Imitates Nature: Paradoxes of Intention and Artifice in Early Modern Europe”

    Tuesday Dec. 10, 5:30 pm, Stone Hill Hunter Studio
  • Curatorial Practice Today: A Conversation with Darsie Alexander
    Wednesday, April 16, 7 pm  Williams College Museum of Art
  • Lenett Lecture
    Melissa Horn, Williams M.A. Class of 2014 “When the Grit Hits the Fan: Oldenberg, Pop, and the Conservation of the Everyday”
    Wednesday, May 7, 5:30 pm, Stone Hill Hunter Studio

Clark Conversations

5:30 pm in the Stone Hill Hunter Studio

  • Darby English
    Thursday Sept. 12
  • Georges Didi-Huberman
    Tuesday Oct. 8
  • Julie Ault
    Wednesday Nov. 13

Colloquia & Symposia

  • Clark Mellon Colloquium with Asia Art Archive Workshop: Fields of Legibility
    Friday-Saturday Sept. 13-14
  • Clark Symposium: “Science, Ethics, and the Transformations of Art in the 13th and 14th Centuries”
    Friday-Saturday Sept 27-28
  • Clark Colloquium: “Portraiture and Materiality”
    Friday-Saturday, Oct. 18-19
  • Art Department Colloquium
    Hana van der Kolk: “Curious Bodies”

    Thursday Oct. 31, 4-5 pm, Spencer 112
  • Art Department Colloquium
    Nick Zammuto: “Triangulation”

    Thursday Nov. 13, 4:15-5:15 pm, Lawrence 3
  • Art Department Colloquium
    Kevin Murphy: “Virtual Thinking: Planning an Installation of American Art from WCMA’s Collection”

    Thursday Dec. 4, 4:15-5:15 pm, Lawrence 3
  • Clark Mellon Enabling the Curator Colloquium
    Power and Majesty: The Art of Kongo Masters
    March 7-8, 2014
  • Clark Mellon 3 Setting the Agenda Colloquium
    Transnational Collaborative Art and Visual Studies Criticism
    March 21-22, 2014

Film

Great Art on Film Series

3:00 pm in the Clark Auditorium

  • Vermeer and Music
    Sunday Oct. 20

Events for Grad Students

  • Welcome Party for Clark Visiting Professor Rebecca Zorach and the Incoming Class
    Wednesday Sept. 18
  • Object Workshop:
    Michael Conforti
    Director, The Clark
    April 7, 2014
  • WCMA and Graduate Art History Event:
    Darsie Alexander, (MA ’91)
    The Katonah Museum of Art, Katonah, NY
    “Curatorial Practice Today”
    April 17-18
  • Object Workshop:
    Michael Conforti
    Director, The Clark
    April 21, 2014
  • Object Workshop:
    Douglas Nickel
    “Nineteenth Century Photographic Processes”
    Andrea V. Rosenthal Professor of Modern Art, Brown University
    History of Photography and Modern Art
    April 28, 2014
  • Object Workshop:
    Stephen Bann
    “Print Culture in the Nineteenth Century”
    Emeritus Professor and Senior Research Fellow, Bristol University, United Kingdom
    May 13, 2014
  • Nineteenth Annual Graduate Art History Symposium
    June 6, 2014